Baked Spaghetti Casserole

When I was a little girl, spaghetti came out of a green box that looked an awful lot like the macaroni and cheese box except the macaroni and cheese box was blue and the spaghetti box was green. I don’t remember Mama ever putting meat in the spaghetti sauce and it wasn’t until I moved out on my own that I started experimenting with adding things like ground beef, onion, bell pepper and mushrooms to make the tomato sauce with the added seasoning packet taste better. I really liked the seasonings that came out of that packet. I just wanted more stuff in my sauce.

Then after I married husband number one and received a Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook, I started making a one-hour homemade sauce. (I know, all the little Italian ladies who cooked their sauces all day long just rolled their eyes at me.) But, I was a working Mom with a husband and two kids to feed after a long shift at the hospital and Rachael Ray hadn’t started cooking up 30 Minute Meals yet. So, I was as they say here in the South, (Texas is in the Southern half of the United States of America). walkin’ in high cotton.

Then husband number two came along who wouldn’t eat a vegetable if his life depended on it. God rest his soul. So, I quit cooking much at all for a very long time. About ten years to be exact. Thank goodness I got out of my slump. LOL Y’all wouldn’t have recognized the woman I was about a year ago. It’s a God thing, I’m sure of it, that I’m here typing this post to y’all today. And I’m really really happy to be doing it.

Now that I’m wiser (and older). I have discovered that I really don’t care for red sauce at all. Well except for my Sister in Law, Sharon’s awesome sauce. (I’ll have to share that recipe with you too.) I’m more of an Alfredo sauce girl. But, I do use a red based sauce for two recipes. My Grammy’s Lasagna and this little Spaghetti Casserole recipe that I have adapted from Mom’s Pantry Kitchen. It’s not a true spaghetti sauce like the little Italian ladies would’ve made, but boy oh boy is it good, especially the second day. (Why is it spaghetti and stew always taste better the next day?) (Inquiring minds need to know).

This is how I made it:

ground beef and onions

I cooked the spaghetti according to the package directions and browned the ground beef and onions with a little salt and pepper. And I did it all at the same time. I CAN multi-task!

ground beef, soups and seasonings

I drained the ground beef and the spaghetti. Then I set the spaghetti aside and poured the ground beef into the pot that the spaghetti cooked in because for some reason I’m having issues with judging how big a pan I need to use these days to keep from getting “stuff” all over the stove. After that I added the undiluted soups, salt, pepper, garlic powder (you could use fresh minced or the jar stuff if you wanna), and the Italian seasoning.

Then I stirred the ground beef, soups and seasonings together until they looked like this. YUM!

Then I stirred the ground beef, soups and seasonings together until they looked like this. YUM!

ground beef mixture and spaghetti

I took the drained spaghetti and dumped it into the pan with the ground beef mixture.

Then I tossed in the spaghetti to make sure it was all nice and coated with that yummy sauce.

Then I tossed the spaghetti about to make sure it was all nice and coated with that yummy sauce.

After which I divided it into my two little Temp-Tations Casserole dishes. Making us two very generous meals.

After which I divided it into my two prepared  little Temp-Tations Casserole dishes. Making us two very generous meals.

I sprinkled a handful of shredded cheese (I used Italian blend, but any shredded cheese would do, maybe even Parmesan) onto each casserole. I covered one with the lid that came with my Temp-Tations set. (Can you tell I LOVE this product?) Then, I popped the other one in the oven at 400* for about 20-30 minutes.

I sprinkled a handful of shredded cheese (I used Italian blend, but any shredded cheese would do, maybe even Parmesan) onto each casserole. I covered one with the lid that came with my Temp-Tations set. (Can you tell I LOVE this product?) and set it aside to cool before I put it in the refrigerator. Then, I popped the other one in the oven at 400* for about 20-30 minutes.

This is what it looked like when it came out of the oven. Hot and bubbly, cheesy delicious!

This is what it looked like when it came out of the oven. Hot and bubbly, cheesy delicious!

Baked Chicken Spaghetti

I hope you’ll try this recipe soon and let me know what you think.

mysignature2

You can find the original Mom’s Pantry Kitchen recipe here

I hope you all have a Blessed Thanksgiving. As a gift from me to you, please accept this Free Printable Recipe Card.

Click on the picture to be taken to another page to print or save the card.

Baked Spaghetti Casserole Recipe Card

10 thoughts on “Baked Spaghetti Casserole

Hey Y'all! Thanks so much for stopping by my little corner of Texas. I appreciate every single comment! I <3 being able to reply and connect with y'all.

