Penne Pasta Chicken & Veggie Re-Run

Saturday Night I had my daughter, son in law and the 3 Ham boys over for supper. We had Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole, Chile con Queso and Guacamole My Way.

When I made the Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole I boiled a colossal chicken. It weighed over 4 pounds. I used 3 cups of the cooked chicken it produced in the casserole and still had 3 cups to use somewhere else. I was going to freeze it but in my hurry to get ready for church Sunday, I forgot. I also had leftover Chile con Queso that I knew I couldn’t eat all of and the Cowboy doesn’t eat it. He’s not a big cheese eater.

So tonight, while I was visiting Stacey Little’s blog, Southern Bite to register to win a copy of Christy Jordan’s Southern Plate’s new cookbook, Come Home to Supper, I happened across this recipe Stacey posted a few years ago called Chicken Spaghetti Remix and WaLLy! It hit me. Stacey’s recipe calls for chicken, √, Velveeta and Ro-Tel tomatoes that I had used in my Chile con Queso √ and √. It sounded like supper was in the works.

Then while perusing the fridge to see what else I could throw into the mix I found some fresh sliced mushrooms and red onion that needed to be used and I had saved some diced bell pepper and celery in the freezer for such an occasion as this and a recipe was born.

I came up with the name for this recipe because I love Johnny Carrino’s, Penne Pasta Alfredo with Shrimp and my Bigmama used to make a cake (I know this is pasta and not a cake, bear with me a second 🙂 ) it was a white cake with a hot Hershey’s syrup poured on top. My Uncle would ask her to make it for every occasion. So, it affectionately became named the Re-Run cake. So, I decided since this was made from things leftover from another meal or found in the fridge that needed to be used. It would be called a Re-Run. That may not make any sense to anyone else but it makes sense to me. 😀

Here’s How I Made It:

the pasta

First, I boiled the pasta in salted water according to the package directions and drained it. Then set it to the side.

sauteed veggies

Then I sautéed the veggies in margarine, adding a little salt and pepper.

add in the chicken

After they were tender, I added in the chicken to warm it up.

the sauce

Then I put a can of cream of chicken soup and the leftover Chile con Queso in the pan and stirred it to combine until the Queso was melted. Then I added in some half n half and a little heavy cream and warmed it through.

everybody in the pot

I added the pasta and veggie and chicken into the pot and stirred to combine.

the finished product

I poured everything into a casserole that had been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray, sprinkled it with a little more grated cheese and baked it in a 350* oven for about 30 minutes. Until it was hot and bubbly.

On the plate

I hope you’ll try this recipe soon and please let me know if y’all like it.
mysignature2

Here’s a Free, Printable Recipe Card just for y’all. Click on the card to be taken to a new window where you can click and save to your computer or copy! Enjoy!

recipe card

Source: adapted from Stacey Little’s Southern Bite’s Chicken Spaghetti Remix

Hey Y'all! Thanks so much for stopping by my little corner of Texas. I appreciate every single comment! I <3 being able to reply and connect with y'all.

