Creamy Coleslaw

I love making salads. The idea of having something in the refrigerator that I can pull out and serve with just about any main dish, excites me. Congealed salads, fruit salads, vegetable salads, it doesn’t much matter to me. I just think they complete the meal.

Salads were my Mama’s forte. I believe I mentioned in one of my previous posts that she used to work in the deli when we still had a Furr’s Family Center here in Lubbock and that’s where she learned to make salads. One of my families favorites is her “Lime Delight.” It’s sweet and tart and creamy and delicious. YUM. I’ll be sharing the recipe closer to the holidays, cause that’s when we make it. However, Mama rarely if ever made coleslaw. I guess it wasn’t one of her favorites.  
When I was married to my son’s father I found this Creamy Coleslaw recipe in the Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook that we received as a wedding gift. I served it with fried Catfish and Baked Beanie Wienies and Barbeque. Then when I didn’t cook much for a whole lot of years for various reasons, I sort of forgot about that recipe. But the Cowboy, He loves coleslaw. Thanks to the internet and bhg.com I am now able to make this wonderful coleslaw for him.
It’s a pretty basic recipe but I’ve had dreams of adding apples,pecans and celery or maybe some drained, crushed pineapple and marshmallows to it and changing it up a bit. For now, Here’s How I Made It:

The Ingredients

Gather the ingredients.

The dressing

In a small bowl, mix together the mayonnaise, vinegar, sugar, celery seed, salt and pepper.

Mix it up

If you have time (or a food processor) you can chop your own green and red cabbage and grate your own carrots.
I have the time but I have things I’d rather do than chop cabbage and grate carrots. So, I opt for convenience and use the bag of Coleslaw Mix. I will tell you I prefer Dole brand. I used an off brand I found at WalMart and it was not chopped fine enough to suit me. So, I go for the Dole that I find at my Market Street. The limits of my frugality go only so far. 🙂 Just open the bag and toss it in a bowl. Pour the dressing over it and mix it up. Refrigerate for 2-24 hours. Then serve.

creamy coleslaw

NOTES Makes 6 side dish sized servings

SOURCE: Better Homes and Gardens 

Free Printable Recipe Card – Just click on the card it will open in a new window and you can save it to your computer or print it. 

mysignature2

recipe card

2 thoughts on “Creamy Coleslaw

Hey Y'all! Thanks so much for stopping by my little corner of Texas. I appreciate every single comment! I <3 being able to reply and connect with y'all.

