GO-TO Chicken Dinner

I found this recipe on Pinterest or Facebook (I have searched for the original recipe and have yet to find it.) The one link I was able to follow said it was their Go To chicken dinner, thus the name.

Now, I have made it at-least once a month since I first found it. WE LOVE THIS RECIPE! So, I thought I’d share it with you. The original post used green beans for the vegetable. I have used canned Italian green beans (We don’t care for green beans so much. But, if you like ’em by all means use ’em.) zucchini, yellow squash, and even made a smaller version of my Bigmama’s Squash Casserole (recipe soon) on the side. I think the next time I catch fresh asparagus on sale, (if I can remember to grab some) I’m gonna try that sometime too.

I’ve used Market Street’sTexas Tumbler chicken breasts once or twice, but I think plain ole boneless, skinless chicken breast work the best.

New potatoes are good but I usually just have russet potatoes around so that’s what I use. I leave the peels on for us, more nutrition that away, but if you want to peel ’em, go for it. What I’m dancing around the bush again to say is this. The possibilities are limited to your imagination.

GO-TO Chicken Dinner
Here’s How I Make It:

chicken

Spray a casserole dish with non-stick cooking spray, then lay the chicken breasts in the center, lengthwise.

chicken and potatoes

Take the potatoes and lay them on one side of the chicken.

Chicken, potatoes, and squash

Then add the squash on the other side.

melted butter

Melt the butter or margarine in the microwave on High for about 1 minute.

butter and seasoning

Add the Italian dressing mix into the bowl and mix with a fork until it’s all combined.

Chicken, potatoes, squash and seasoning

Pour the butter and the seasoning all over the chicken, potatoes and squash. Toss it around a little if you wanna to make sure it’s all nice and coated.

pan covered with foil

Cover the casserole with foil and place it in a 350* oven for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. I tried it for just an hour but the potatoes are never quite done. Check it after an hour and see how things are in your own oven.

Go-To Chicken Dinner is served

This is how it looked when I served it up. The chicken is moist and tender. The veggies are well, just perfectly done.

That little roll you see on the plate there is one of Christy Jordan’s Southern Plate’s “Ten Minute Rolls” You’ll find the recipe here. Hope you’ll try this recipe soon and that y’all like it as much as we do. I’m gonna go eat now.

mysignature2
GO-TO CHICKEN DINNER
INGREDIENTS

3 large, boneless, skinless chicken breasts
3-4 yellow squash, zucchini or a combination of both, sliced
3-4 small russet potatoes, cut in about 1 inch cubes. I leave the skins on but you could peel them if you’d like.
1 pkg. dry Italian Dressing Mix or 2 T. DIY Italian Dressing Mix (Recipe Below)
1 stick butter

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 350*. Spray 9X13 casserole dish with non-stick cooking spray. Place chicken breasts in the center of the
casserole dish, lengthwise. Place cubed potatoes on one side of the chicken. Place sliced squash, on side of the chicken. Melt the stick of butter in a microwave safe bowl about 1 minute on high power in the microwave. Add the dry
Italian dressing mix to the butter and whisk together til well mixed. Pour the butter/dressing mixture over the chicken,
potatoes and veggies. Cover with foil. Bake for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. So delicious and couldn’t be easier.

DIY ITALIAN DRESSING MIX
SOURCE:
Group Recipes
INGREDIENTS
Dry mix

1 T. garlic salt
1 T. onion powder
1 T. sugar
2 T. oregano
1 tsp. pepper
1/4 tsp. thyme
1 tsp. basil
1 T. parsley
1/4 tsp. celery salt
2 tsp. salt

To Make Italian Dressing:

1/4 C white vinegar
2/3 C. vegetable oil
2 T. water
2 T. dry mix

DIRECTIONS
Dry mix

In mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients.
Store in airtight container

To Make Italian Dressing:

Add all dressing ingredients to jar. Tightly close lid. Shake well
Store in refrigerator.

21 thoughts on “GO-TO Chicken Dinner

  1. Pingback: One Dish Chicken Dinner « Keitochan Says:

  2. Pingback: Simple Recipes for the Time Poor | Infoist

  3. Pingback: Roasted Chicken and Vegetables. | Healthy Eating Recipe ideas

Hey Y'all! Thanks so much for stopping by my little corner of Texas. I appreciate every single comment! I <3 being able to reply and connect with y'all.

