Grammy’s Cowboy Beans

Cowboy Beans 2


My Mama worked outside the home in the evenings and it was my job to make sure supper was fixed when Daddy came home. Sometimes that poor man ate food that wasn’t fit to eat. Like the time I made mashed potatoes with only two potatoes and way too much milk. Then the time I took and opened up both ends of the bread package because I knew Daddy liked the heels and I wanted to make him a nice sandwich. I guess he didn’t want to hurt my feelings.
So, Mama taught me how to make simple things like eggs and “Hamburger Meat and Beans” pretty soon after I showed some interest in cooking. She would just fry up the meat, open a couple of cans of pork n beans, put them in with the meat and heat them through and call it supper. Quick and easy enough for a 10 or 12 year old girl to do.
I still get cravings for that simple food, but I have doctored it up a little bit. I hope you’ll consider trying my Cowboy Bean Recipe. It’s not all that complicated and it surely is good.

mysignature2

Grammy’s Cowboy Beans
Cowboy Beans
Ingredients

1 lb. ground beef
1/2 C. onion, chopped
1/2 C. bell pepper, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
2 (15 oz.) cans Pork’n Beans
2 T. ketchup
3 T. brown sugar
1 T. Worcestershire Sauce
1 T. prepared yellow or spicy brown mustard

Directions

Preheat oven to 350*. Prepare a Bean-Pot or casserole dish by spraying with non-stick cooking spray.
Heat skillet over medium-high heat. Add ground beef, onion, bell pepper, garlic and salt and pepper to taste. Cook, stirring to break up the meat, until meat is cooked through and is no longer pink and onion is translucent and bell pepper is tender. Drain the grease and place meat mixture in the Bean-Pot. Add beans, ketchup, brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce and mustard. Stir to combine. Bake in 350* oven for 30 minutes or until hot and bubbly.

NOTES
Source: This is a Mammy2Grammy Original Recipe 🙂

3 thoughts on “Grammy’s Cowboy Beans

  1. Pingback: Grammy’s Baked Beanie-Wienies | Mammy2Grammy

Hey Y'all! Thanks so much for stopping by my little corner of Texas. I appreciate every single comment! I <3 being able to reply and connect with y'all.

