Slow-Cooker Sloppy Joes

This month was my turn to host our monthly Bunco Party. I decided that since it was Back to School time I would follow that theme and to take it a little further I asked the girls to wear pink or dress like the “Pink Ladies” in the movie “Grease”. We always have a great time and last Friday night was no exception. The menu included Slow-Cooker Sloppy Joes a recipe that I found over at Christy Jordan’s Southern Plate. It was a big hit and the fact that I was able to cook the sauce in the slow cooker made hosting a lot easier. 

Slow-Cooker Sloppy Joes

I cooked the ground beef in my slow cooker when I brought it home from the store. My Market Street had ground beef patties on sale buy one get-one free. Big Score! I made hamburger steaks out of part of the meat, two to a package and in the freezer for future suppers. Then I put the rest (about 3 lbs.) in the slow cooker. Turned it on High and let it cook for about 4 hours and stirred it every hour to break up the meat. When I was sure it all cooked through, I let it cool and put it in zippered freezer bags in about one pound packages. That way when I was ready to use it, all I had to do was pull it out of the freezer, let it thaw a bit and place it in the slow cooker. I added the sauce ingredients and 8 hours later I had Party Food!

I doubled the recipe so it made a lot. The Cowboy and I will have Sloppy Joes for supper a few more times in the weeks to come. I just let the sauce cool and put it in freezer bowls to put away in the freezer for later use. I hope you’ll try this super yummy recipe the next time you host a party or just want a really filling super simple supper.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope to see you again soon.

❤ Kim


RECIPE

Ingredients

1+1/2 pound lean ground chuck*
15 ounce can diced tomatoes, undrained
1 C. ketchup
3/4 C. barbecue sauce – I used Sweet Baby Ray’s
1 T. mustard (optional) – I used spicy brown mustard
1-2 T. sweet pickle relish – I used 2
1 T. diced jalapeno (optional) – I opted to leave these out.
8 hamburger buns, for serving

Directions

Place raw* beef in slow cooker and break up with a beef chopper or large spoon. Pour all other ingredients over beef. Stir well to combine. Cover and cook on high, 3-4 hours or low, 6-7 hours. Scoop out with slotted spoon onto buns. Serve hot and enjoy! Makes 8


*Using lean ground chuck is crucial in this recipe because your meat will be terribly greasy cooking it this way if you use regular ground beef. However, if all you have is regular ground beef, simply brown it in a skillet ahead of time, add it to the slow cooker with all other ingredients, and cut cooking time in half.

NOTES
Source: Southern Plate

3 thoughts on “Slow-Cooker Sloppy Joes

Hey Y'all! Thanks so much for stopping by my little corner of Texas. I appreciate every single comment! I <3 being able to reply and connect with y'all.

