Chocolate Tres Leches Poke Cake

Chocolate Cake
I’m taking the lead from my friend Brandie over at The Country Cook and I’m gonna try a new “Poke Cake”. Brandie is the Poke Cake Queen.
My Cowboy loves her Banana Pudding Poke Cake, I made a sugar-free version for him. Her Oreo Puddin’ Poke Cake was a huge hit at our church’s Eatin’ Meetin’ here while back and I made her Boston Cream Poke Cake for dessert on Mother’s Day, since my Sis-in-Law cooked, (her famous spaghetti with meatballs which is slap your mama good, I’m Just Sayin’) dessert was the least I could do.

Anyhow I love me some “Poke Cake” so when I happened upon this Chocolate Tres Leches Cake over at Kraft Foods I decided to take a “Poke” (pun intended) at makin’ it and it turned out great. I hope you’ll try it soon.
This Post is Linked to Brandie’s Weekly Weekend Potluck Linky Party!

❤ Kim

Chocolate Tres Leches Cake
Chocolate Tres Leches Poke Cake
Ingredients
1 pkg. (2-layer size) white cake mix
(plus ingredients to make cake, usually water, oil and eggs.)
3 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips, melted*-that’s about 6 T. of chips
1 can (14 oz.) sweetened condensed milk
1 can (12 oz.) evaporated milk
1/2 C. sour cream
1 C. thawed whipped topping

Directions
Prepare cake batter and bake in 13X9-inch pan as directed on package. Cool cake in pan 10 min. Poke cake with a fork or a straw, at about 1/2-inch intervals, making sure that the holes are big enough to allow the milk mixture to get down in the cake really good. (I used the handle end of my wooden spoon and it didn’t turn out so pretty and it was a little soppy on the bottom.)

Melt the chocolate chips in the microwave*; set aside. Mix the milks and sour cream in a large bowl until smooth. Add the melted chocolate; mix well. Pour over cake, re-piercing cake if necessary until milk mixture is absorbed. Refrigerate 1 hour. Frost cake with whipped topping. Keep refrigerated
TIPS
*How to melt chocolate chips in the microwave:
Place the desired amount of chocolate chips in a microwave-safe bowl and place in the microwave. Set microwave to 50% power for 1 minute. Chocolate burns easily and must always be melted using low heat. Stir the chocolate chips after one minute and return to the microwave and continue at 15 second intervals up to 1 minute, until the chips are slightly more than half melted. Stirring after each interval. Any leftover un-melted chips will be melted by residual heat.

Read more: ehow.com

NOTES

source: Kraft Recipes

19 thoughts on “Chocolate Tres Leches Poke Cake

  1. I can’t wait to make this poke cake. It looks so good and tempting right now to make. I have made all of Brandie’s poke cakes and all were so delicious. Also, do you think your sister-in-law would share her famous spaghetti and meatballs recipe? I love, love, love that dish.

    • Hey Elizabeth,
      First I want to thank you for stopping by to visit. I really think you’ll like this poke cake. My Sis in Law is the best and it so happens she shared her recipe for Spaghetti and Meatballs with me for our Family Cookbook. I’ll have to make them and blog about them. Very soon. Thanks for asking.
      ❤ Kim

  2. This looks so good! I have never made a poke cake…..yet! I think I need to change that fact, I’m sure the hubby won’t mind! Thanks for sharing at Tasty Tuesday~ Lynn @ Turnips 2 Tangerins

  3. I LOVE a good poke cake! My friend The Country Cook is obsessed with them – in a good way! You have got to post this on Weekend Potluck! People will go crazy for it. Oh wait, you already follow Brandie! Have you posted it? If you don’t know how, go to my blog and search for linky party and my daughter made a video. Brandie will love this!

Hey Y'all! Thanks so much for stopping by my little corner of Texas. I appreciate every single comment! I <3 being able to reply and connect with y'all.

