Oven Baked Chicken Fajitas

One Friday night a month the Cowboy and I have a date night. We go out 2-steppin’ with his son and daughter in law to a Western Swing band called Jody Nix and The Texas Cowboys. Last Friday was the night and while I was gettin’ all gussied up I had this delicious dish in the oven and some yummy Guacamole My Way was gettin’ all happy in the Fridgidaire for our supper.

Here’s how I did it:

Ingredients for Oven Baked Chicken Fajitas

Gather the ingredients.

In a small bowl combine the oil, cumin, chili powder, oregano, garlic powder, and salt. Sprinkle over chicken; toss to coat. Put in the refrigerator to marinate 30 minutes to overnight.

When ready to bake, preheat oven to 400* and spray a 13X9 casserole dish with non-stick cooking spray.

Chicken marinated in the seasonings

Place the marinated chicken in the greased 13X9 casserole.

tomatoes and chicken

Add in the diced tomatoes & green chilies.

Chicken, tomatoes, and peppers

Place the peppers on top of the chicken and tomatoes.

chicken, peppers and onions

Layer the onions over the bell peppers.

chicken, tomatoes, peppers and onions

Toss everything around with some tongs to combine.

Bake, uncovered, at 400° for 20-25 minutes.

Oven Baked Chicken Fajitas
The chicken is fork tender and the veggies are still a little crisp. Warm up some flour tortillas and grab the toppings of your choice and supper’s on.

This Post is Linked to Brandie’s Weekly WEEKEND POTLUCK Linky Party!

OVEN BAKED CHICKEN FAJITAS

INGREDIENTS

1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into thin strips
2 T. vegetable oil
2 tsp. ground cumin
2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. oregano
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 (10-1/2 oz.) can diced tomatoes and green chilies, undrained
2 medium onions, cut into thin strips-We like lots of onion
2 medium green peppers, cut into thin strips
12 flour tortillas (6 inches), warmed
Toppings such as: grated cheese, sour cream, and guacamole-if desired.

DIRECTIONS


Prepare a 13X9 baking dish with cooking spray, Place the chicken strips in a gallon sized zippered bag.
In a small bowl combine the oil, cumin, chili powder, oregano, garlic powder, and salt. Sprinkle over
chicken; toss to coat. Put in the refrigerator to marinate 30 min. to overnight.
When ready to bake, place marinated chicken strips in the greased baking dish. Add tomatoes with green chilies, onion and bell peppers to the dish and stir to combine. Bake, uncovered, at 400° for 20-25 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink and vegetables are tender. Serve on tortillas; with desired toppings.
Yield: 6 servings.

Source: Recipe adapted from a recipe I found on Facebook. This one I found at Life in the Lofthouse fits what I have written in my notes the best.

19 thoughts on “Oven Baked Chicken Fajitas

  1. Pingback: Baked Chicken Fajitas | A Planner's Present

  2. I have seen several of your recipes from Brandie that look so good. I want to make the choc tres leches poke cake. I found the recipe but can’t print it. I have a little trouble when I can’t click on the recipe and print it then. I

  3. Pingback: The Weekend re-Treat #37 FEATURES

  4. Pingback: Guacamole My Way | Mammy2Grammy

  5. Hi Kim,
    I just love your Oven Chicken Fajitas and your Guacamole is a perfect side, it all looks delicious. I am stopping by from Sweet Tea Social and thank you for sharing.
    Miz Helen

  6. Pingback: Crock-Pot Chicken Tacos | Mammy2Grammy

Hey Y'all! Thanks so much for stopping by my little corner of Texas. I appreciate every single comment! I <3 being able to reply and connect with y'all.

