The Tale of Two Hamburger Stroganoff’s

(UPDATE) I was a really newbie blogger when I first posted this blog. I’m a little more seasoned than I was 2 months ago. (HA!) After all I have 14 posts under my belt now. 😀 I’ve re-learned a little about editing pictures and html code. (I ❤ Pic Monkey.) I've also learned how to make my font bigger so you (and I) can read it better. So I'm reposting this one with just a few little changes. I hope you'll try this Stroganoff soon.
❤ Kim

I sat down and planned a month worth of menus for the month of August. Then the Cowboy went and bought me that slow cooker. Now don’t get me wrong. I LOVE it! I’ve had it all of 12 days and I’ve made Slow Cooker Pot Roast (recipe coming soon), Chicken Tacos and Pinto Beans in it.
But the Hamburger Stroganoff recipe I had was for the stove-top and it was the first thing I had ever made for my Cowboy. It had to be just so.
So, there I was at 5 am trying to figure out how to adapt the stove-top recipe to work in my new slow cooker. Turns out it was easier than I thought. ;). Here’s a picture of how it turned out.

slow cooker stroganoff

Doing my best Vanna White to show off my new and improved picture.


And let me just tell you it was yummy. Even without the mushrooms and the parsley. I didn’t have mushrooms because I forgot them at the store and parsley was just never something Mama used, so I don’t either. We liked it anyway. I hope you do too.

SLOW-COOKER HAMBURGER STROGANOFF

INGREDIENTS

1 tsp. olive oil
1 lb. lean ground beef
1 C. chopped onion
1 lg. clove garlic, minced
1 (8 oz.) pkg. sliced mushrooms
1 C. beef broth
1 tsp. salt
3/4 tsp. pepper
3/4 C. sour cream
3 T. dry Sherry
2 T. flour
1/4 C. cold water
3 T. chopped parsley (optional)
8 oz. uncooked medium egg noodles

DIRECTIONS

Heat oil in a lg. non-stick skillet over med. heat. Add beef, onion and garlic to pan and brown, stirring to crumble. Drain fat. Add to slow cooker with remaining ingredients except for sour cream. Cover and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours. About 15 minutes before ready to serve, cook pasta according to pkg. directions. Rinse under cold water and drain. Stir sour cream into the stroganoff. Heat through. If needed make a slurry out of the 1/4 C. cold water and the 2 T. flour by mixing both together in a cup or small bowl. Add to the slow cooker to help thicken the gravy. Serve Stroganoff over hot cooked noodles and garnish with parsley if desired.

NOTES
SOURCES:myrecipes.com and Food.com

Hey Y'all! Thanks so much for stopping by my little corner of Texas. I appreciate every single comment! I <3 being able to reply and connect with y'all.

