English Pea Salad aka the first recipe I remember making with my Mama and my first food blog.

Okie Dokie. I made my first post on here earlier this afternoon and I think I’m over my newbie jitters. Therefore I’m ready to do my first “Food Blog.” 

What better to blog about than the first food I remember making with my Mama.  English (or Green or Sweet) Pea Salad.  Mama worked at the deli inside the “Furr’s Supermarket” and learned to make all the salads there.  She was an awesome salad maker.  Her “Lime Delight” was requested at every family get-together and she made a few different versions of that.  I have just recently discovered the secret to that delicious dish and I’ll share it with you soon.  I promise.  Now about the Pea Salad.

Image

Dump the drained peas into a medium sized bowl.  Do you use canned or frozen?  I know people “geek” out about the texture of peas.  I like both but I grew up eating them out of the can.  So that’s how I roll.  Do you rinse your canned goods?  This is a trick my first Mother in Law (Opal Mae Mendenhall) taught me.  She would say “It makes them taste fresher.”  Doesn’t matter if you don’t or you do.  Inquiring minds just like to know these things.  I would give just about anything to have her recipes.  She made the best biscuits, EVER, in a bread board that was her Mother’s.  No recipe needed, she just used a handful of this and a pinch of that.  She taught me to can, to process venison and that Sweet Tea was served at “Tea Time.”  OK. back to the Pea Salad. 

Image

I guess I got to askin’ too many questions about peas up there and forgot to take a picture of them in the bowl by themselves.  But that’s ok they really like to be in the bowl with something else. Today it’s gonna be onion. I cheated this mornin’ and cut up extra when I made the Cowboy’s eggs.  He likes his eggs with extra bell peppers, onions and tomatoes.  But, that’s a story for another day.  I usually use around 1/4 C. of onion for a can of peas, but, He likes LOTS of onion so I just add them ’til it looks right.  Like one of my favorite blogger’s Christy Jordan over at Southern Plate says “It’s your kitchen, you’re a big boy/girl,  and the only rules are the ones you decide to make.” :)  

Image

Now, Toss in some cheese.  Mama would’ve just folded up slices of Kraft Singles and then cut them into little chunks.  But the Cowboy doesn’t really like cheese (I know) But, he will eat his veggies so I’m not gonna haggle over a little cheese.  I prefer to choose my battles carefully so I use the shredded cheese.  Now mix the peas. onion and cheese and add a couple or three heaping tablespoons of mayonnaise or Miracle Whip.  I just use whichever I have on hand.  Add salt and pepper to taste,  Mix until well combined and serve immediately or cover and refrigerate ’til ready to serve.   

Image

I served this tonight with left-over Crock-Pot Roast, potatoes, carrots and onion, cucumbers and onion with lemon juice and Tajin Clasico seasoning and bread with butter.  The Cowboy told me twice how good the pea salad was.  I hope y’all like it too. 

The Recipe

Ingredients:

1 (15 oz.) can sweet peas, drained

1/4 C. onion, chopped

1/4 C. grated cheese, I used fiesta blend but I usually just use whatever I have on hand. 

2-3 heaping T. mayonnaise or Miracle Whip

salt and pepper

Directions:

Pour drained peas into a medium sized mixing bowl.  Add onion and cheese,  Fold in mayonnaise or Miracle Whip.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Serve immediately or cover and refrigerate until ready to serve. 

 

 

 

 

 

Hey Y'all! Thanks so much for stopping by my little corner of Texas. I appreciate every single comment! I <3 being able to reply and connect with y'all.

