Crock-Pot Chicken Tacos

Now let me tell you, the Cowboy LOVES Tacos! Just take my word for it, I’ve seen him put away 6 in one sitting. Of course he says it’s my fault he’s gained 13 pounds since we’ve been together. I keep telling him he doesn’t have to eat it all at once. But, I don’t complain, it pleases me to no end this one isn’t picky about much, ‘cept Women of course. So after our second trip to On The Border for Endless Tacos, I happened upon this recipe over at My Chocolate Therapy. The Cowboy says these are better than On The Border. Which works for me and our budget.

The first time I made these I used my Celebrating Home Bean Pot. If you are interested, please click the link and go visit my friend Lyn’s page to purchase one and tell her I sent you. These Bean Pots are AWESOME and it worked just fine, but it’s HOT outside and the Cowboy bought me this Shiny, New, Candy Apple Red Bella Slow Cooker, so why heat up the house by turning the oven on.
20130808_073913
It also came with a nifty little “Dipper” warmer that will be perfect for stuff like Chile Con Queso.
20130808_073937
I just had to show off my new slow cooker ’cause I’m sure you’ll be seeing it again.
20130808_074356
Here’s all you’ll need to make your own chicken tacos. Boneless, skinless chicken breasts, 6 pieces, 1 pkg. of your favorite taco seasoning or 2 T. of Homemade Taco Seasoning I found at $5 Dinners (recipe below), and about 16 oz. of your favorite jarred salsa. I like the Great Value brand and the medium has about the right heat factor for our taste buds.
20130808_074541
Place the chicken into the slow cooker or bean pot like so.
20130808_074716
Sprinkle the taco seasoning over the chicken.
20130808_075059
Pour the salsa over all. There you have it. Easy Peasy. Put the lid on the slow cooker or the bean pot and cook according to the instructions below.
20130808_171324
This is what the final product looks like after running my tongs through it. I couldn’t pick up one single whole chicken breast. It fell apart, tender, juicy, yum.

Serve in warmed, soft flour tortillas or hard corn taco shells with your favorite toppings. We like Guacamole My Way, chopped tomato, chopped onion and I like mine with a little shredded cheese and sour cream, but they’re your tacos, eat ‘em how you want ‘em.

CROCK-POT CHICKEN TACOS

INGREDIENTS

6 pieces boneless, skinless chicken breast
1 pkg. taco seasoning or about 2 T. Homemade Taco Seasoning.(recipe below)
16 oz. jar salsa

DIRECTIONS

Place chicken breasts into the bottom of a slow cooker or bean pot. Sprinkle chicken with taco seasoning. You do not need to add the water called for on the taco seasoning pkg. Pour salsa over all. Cover your slow cooker or bean pot and cook according to instructions below.

Slow Cooker Method: Cook on low setting 6-8 hours or on High setting 4-6 hours.
Bean Pot Method: Bake in a 350* oven for about 1 1/2 hours or @ 300* up to 3 hours.

HOMEMADE TACO SEASONING
by: $5 Dinners

INGREDIENTS

1 part chili powder-I used 4 T.
1 part ground cumin-I used 4 T.
1 part garlic powder-I used 4 T.
1 part onion powder-I used 4 T.
1/4 – 1/2 part crushed red pepper-I used 1 T.

DIRECTIONS

Mix all the spices together and store in an airtight container. I store mine in the freezer!

2 T. mix = 1 pkg. store bought taco seasoning.

Now go and make yourselves some tacos and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Crock-Pot Chicken Tacos

  1. Thanks for sharing this w/ The Ugly Duckling link party! I find these crockpot (pulled meat) recipes the most difficult to look beautiful even though they are delish! Thanks for embracing the theme of the party!

  2. Pingback: Guacamole My Way | Mammy2Grammy

  3. Pingback: The Tale of Two Hamburger Stroganoff’s | Mammy2Grammy

Hey Y'all! Thanks so much for stopping by my little corner of Texas. I appreciate every single comment! I <3 being able to reply and connect with y'all.

